No, there was no eating strange fishy products. No wearing a funny hat. No motodop parade. However, my dear Cambodian friends did seize the occasion to make me feel very much loved on my day of birth. There were two celebrations—one in the afternoon at Bong Somaly’s with the house church, and another in the evening at Kesara’s house with twenty of my friends. We ate a delicious traditional Cambodian meal, I baked chocolate chip cookies to share, there was music and singing, Cambodian dancing, sparklers, cake, and even presents! I was able to share my testimony and thank God for his grace, goodness, and provision upon my life, and to thank the guests for coming and making it such a special day for me–a day I truly felt God’s blessing and favor on my life.

My 25th birthday celebration is going down in the books. [Note: If you haven’t experienced a Cambodian birthday celebration, I recommend you put it on your list of things to do].

afternoon celebration

afternoon celebration

evening celebration

evening celebration

excited about my cake - with dragon fruit on the top

excited about my cake - with dragon fruit on the top

my beautiful friend

my beautiful friend

i received a birthday package from two of my very thoughtful friends, full of treats from America! i. loved. it.

i received a birthday package from two of my very thoughtful friends, full of treats from America! i. loved. it.

