Bible teaching at Somaly's

Bible teaching at Somaly's

Somaly became a Christian at the refugee camps in Thailand as she and her family were finding safety during the Pol Pot regime. Kesara and I meet with Somaly and her son, Rathana (age 20), every week to study the Bible together and pray. Somaly has opened her home for a group of believers to worship together on Sundays.

The first week I met her, she invited me to use her home as a place for teaching English to youth in the neighborhood. Twenty-two kids [ages 12-22] come to the English class. And now we teach English there two times each week. What began as a simple language learning class turned in to be an amazing platform to share the gospel to the youth as well. Last Thursday, Kesara and I had the privilege of seeing 3 of these students become believers in Jesus Christ! What a joy it is to see God’s salvation at work and new life be given to those of faith! [Funny tid-bit: the ceiling of the classroom is not quite tall enough for me, so I’m always bending over or kneeling in the dirt. Haha. Tall foreigners.]

English classroom

English classroom

Please pray that I would be intentional in building relationships with these young ones [despite the language barrier]; that my life would reflect the Lord’s love to them; and for repentant hearts. Also pray for these 3 new believers [one boy and two girls–Mun, Srymum, and Reckana]. Kesara and I will be meeting with them once a week to begin discipling them through God’s Word. Pray for this time together with them–that it would be fruitful. Pray for a hunger and thirst for Truth; for courage and wisdom in application of God’s Word in their lives; that they would grow in their knowledge and love for Jesus; that they would have boldness to share their newfound salvation and love with friends and family.

Bong Somaly has taught me traditional Cambodian dance! Oh goodness. Great FUN! I caught a bit of it on video (but, of course, I can’t get it to upload). However, if you’re lucky, you will get a live performance upon my return. Maybe.

twist the wrist

twist the wrist

